Thursday, 2 May 2019

Steampunk - The Department of Curiosities - new release blog tour

Steampunk author Karen J Carlise is about to release her sixth book in The Department of Curiosities series, "For the Good of the Empire".

The Department of Curiosities is a steampunk tale of adventure, a heroine, mad scientists, traitors and secrets.

About the book:
Miss Matilda Meriwether has a secret. Actually, she has several. One of them has shaped her adult life. Another now controls it. Her Majesty Queen Victoria has control of the Empire. She is the Empire, and creator of its secrets. Sir Avery works for The Department of Curiosities – the keepers of secrets – especially if they are useful to the Empire. When Tillie finds herself in the employment of The Department of Curiosities, she realises this is the perfect opportunity to uncover the truth she has been searching for. But the Queen has other plans for her.

About the characters:
There are new characters: main characters are Tillie Meriwether and Sir (Professor) Avery Allington.
Tillie is about to turn twenty-one, successfully avoided the trappings of being presented to Society so far (she is vexed by Society’s insistence she needs a man), and a young woman on a personal quest to clear her father’s name. Sir Avery is an operative in The Department of Curiosities. He would rather be known for his studies and achievements than his birthright.

About the setting:
The Department of Curiosities is the second series set in the same alternate steampunk world as my first series The Adventures of Viola Stewart. DOC is a steampunk tale of adventure, a heroine, mad scientists, traitors and secrets. All for the good of the Empire.
This series is a lighter set adventures, set in the early 1880s.

Book ordering information:
Release date: 22nd May, 2019.
Title: The Department of Curiosities 
Subtitle: For the Good of the Empire 
Series: The Department of Curiosities 
Author: Karen J Carlisle 
ISBN: paperback: 978-0-9944850-4-5 /eBook: tbc 
Retail price: Paperback: AU$24.99 / eBook: US $3.99 
Genre: steampunk adventure/ alternative history 
Formats/Available as: Paperback (available to bookstores via Ingram Spark) and ebook
Release date: 22nd May, 2019.

About the Author:
Karen J Carlisle is a writer of steampunk, Victorian mysteries and fantasy. Her books include The Adventures of Viola Stewart series and Aunt Enid: Protector Extraordinaire. Her short stories have featured in the 2016 Adelaide Fringe exhibition, ‘A Trail of Tales’, and the ‘Where’s Holmes’ and ‘Deadsteam’ anthologies. Karen lives in Adelaide with her family and the ghost of her ancient Devon Rex cat. She’s always loved dark chocolate and rarely refuses a cup of tea.

Pre-order your copy:

No comments:

Post a Comment