Skip to main content

Calling fans of Koontz and King - short reads to add to your collection

Looking for short reads in #horror this summer/winter.

Great for fans of Dean Koontz and Stephen King.
"Goosebumps" for adults.

Book 1 is 99c at Smashwords till end of July.
https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/499345

Book 2 is 99c on pre-order at Amazon till end of August.https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07438SNSJ

Read these with all the lights on.


From the author:

I have to admit, I grew up reading fairy tales, those wonderfully dark stories about evil witches, enchanted forests, and mean dwarves who stole children. Rumplestiltskin is still my all-time favourite fairy tale. Remember the TV series "Once Upon A time"? I was a fan of the character. R. L Stine's "Goosebumps" books were something I started reading when I was much older, simply because they weren't around when I was a child. But I adore a good ghost story.

So I guess it's not hard to see why I'm writing my very own "Goosebumps" for adults series of horror and supernatural thrillers called "The Shivers Novellas".

Now, "The Shivers Novellas" won't be to everyone's taste, and I understand that. But for those of you who love a good ghost story, this is what they are:

  • Standalone titles that can be read in any order.
  • Each is 30,000 words or 109 pages, so they can be read on the bus or at lunch.
  • This series will suit readers who are strapped for time but don't want to miss out on reading a book.
  • "Poison in the Pond" is the first book in the series and it's been a good seller on Amazon. Now avail on B&N, Kobo, and other online retail sites.
  • All of   these books will be avail in print.
  • "Evil in the Embers" is the second book and it's officially released on August 20.
  • "Danger in the Dirt" is the next in the series and this story will blend the wild-west with a mythological beast.


Evil will be unleashed and it wants revenge.
Jenny Abercrombie returns to Horseshoe Bay after a fifteen year absence to recreate photos from her summers growing up there and to get over a bad breakup. There she meets her summer crush, Troy Dillon, who offers to show her around town. Soon, ghostly images appear in her photos and nightmares plague her sleep. She doesn't know that her presence is awakening ghosts who have secrets to share. And Jenny is the person they want to share them with. When her sister shows up unexpectedly, Jenny is caught in the middle of a ghostly battle for revenge

Exclusive to my VIPs!!!!
Read a sample chapter.
Please note this is unedited and not the final version.

If you like this sample, you might like to pre-order your copy here for 99c (US)

Chapter 1
 

Fifteen years was a long time to stay away from a place you told your friends stories about. Whenever Jenny Abercrombie spoke of Horseshoe Bay, in her mind she pictured the wind as it whipped the reeds on the lake, seagulls bobbing on the water despite being miles away from the ocean, traffic pulled over at the side of the road to take photos of the mountains.

Even now her mouth watered for the taste of peppermint ice cream with sprinkles from the soda shop, a relic from the past that the townsfolk believed would be their downfall if it were to ever close. It seemed a betrayal somehow that she'd last visited Horseshoe Bay...how many years? It had to be fifteen.

How much would it have changed? she wondered as she steered her Honda onto the road leading to the picturesque lake town where she'd spent every summer between the ages of four and sixteen.

Whenever she spoke of Horseshoe Bay, she also pictured her father's hands on the wheel of their dark-blue station wagon. For years their mother had sat in the front, while Jenny's older sister, Carrie, had sat in the back, wedged between suitcases packed with items they'd never use. The bags were often just a buffer to stop the girls fighting. Lately, these memories ended with stabbing pains to Jenny's chest. Her parents had divorced bitterly when she was ten, and her father had taken the two girls on his own for the next few years, but it was never the same. For a start, Carrie had taken the front seat, her smile wide like the proud winner at a pie eating contest, and Jenny had sat in the back alone with their suitcases.

The roads had improved. She remembered her father having to dodge pot holes on his way in. Sometimes when Carrie became annoyingly obnoxious, Dad would aim for a pot hole, then he'd wink at Jenny in the rearview mirror and she'd feel ten-feet tall. The sign welcoming her to Horseshoe Bay had had a facelift - gone was the photos of the lonely cabin, now replaced with pictures of fishing and water skiing on the lake. The trees she remembered as being tall enough to take her up to the clouds were ordinary poplars, fully grown and adorned with the bright green foliage of spring.

She pulled over to the side of the road to stare down Main Street. It was familiar, yet as if Mother Nature had never dusted the town and it now sat heavy with a smear. So much could have changed and she wouldn't have known. She felt the stab of betrayal once more as she drove onwards to the Mayflower Inn.

Chance had led her to book this particular inn. Curiosity had led her to discovering that it was operated by Troy Dillon, her childhood summer crush. Hadn't he once told her that he loathed this town and he was getting out first chance? If he had left, it seemed like destiny that he should be here when she finally returned. Three years old than Jenny, he'd be thirty-four by now. What did he look like? she wondered.

As a photographer, Jenny spent a lot of her days picturing things in her mind. Sometimes she wondered why she needed a camera at all. But then she couldn't project her mind onto the page. At first she'd use the camera to mask her shyness. Then she'd come to love it. And she was good enough to earn an income. A small income. One that unfortunately didn't provide enough cash to replace her car. So the advertisement for a photo contest with a car as first prize was enough of a lure to drag her back to Horseshoe Bay.

Jenny conjured up images of Troy Dillon as the tanned, golden-haired sixteen-year-old boy she'd followed every summer like a lost puppy. The awkward, teenage nervousness she'd suffered in puberty was returning. She almost forgot that she needed gas. She pulled into the service station. An amendment to the original location; she remembered it being a little further down the road.

She hesitated before getting out of the car. Pulling a photo album out from her bag, she checked to make sure her memory was working. Yes, the service station used to be further down the road and painted blue. Checking to make sure she wasn't holding up anyone else who wanted gas, she grabbed her camera and got out, then she walked to the sidewalk and stared up and down the road. She snapped a few photos to compare photos she'd taken in her youth to these. Her project was going to be either a series of comparative photos or a single photo of old versus new. She wouldn't be sure which photos she'd enter until she'd spent time studying every detail with the eye of a beauty pageant mom.

She fueled up and headed further into town. Now trepidation and fear began to settle in. Sometimes the past belonged in the past, and to resurrect it might bring on the same disastrous consequences as resurrecting a corpse. Which, she told herself, was the most random thought of the day and belonged in a horror movie.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Latest news! I've signed up to write a post-apoc series

When I started writing, I had one set goal: to become a prolific author. At the time I was into reading Stephen King and Dean Koontz, and I wanted to write books, lots of them.  Now I have that chance. After writing, publishing, and promoting 10 books, I've signed up to to write a series of post-apocalyptic fiction books for  Mission Critical Publishing. The reason I signed up was simple. They're innovative. The publishing industry today is fast and fluid.  I've agreed to write 3 books in 6 months. Each book will be around 60,000 words when completed. I'll need to become a writing machine. To accomplish this I'll need to do  2 things: #1 Write fast The only way for me to write fast is to write an overview of the entire book (or series). This can be one page per book. Then I write dots points that become the chapters. Complications, conflicts, solutions, all fit into these chapters. Then I set a daily word count. I'm

The Bird With The Broken Wing by D L Richardson ebook now $2.99

Welcome Latest news!!! What a surprise it was for me to check in on my online retail sites and discover some good news about my debut novel The Bird With The Broken Wing . I regularly do this to make sure links are working and what not. Anyway, I checked in and discovered that my publisher has reduced the ebook price to $2.99 USD. This is great news, because many ebooks are set at this price point and I've often thought that maybe this deterred buyers rather than attract them, which is the essence of selling. you can read reviews for this YA fantasy novel on author website Author's description of the book: "The Bird With the Broken Wing is a tale about a guardian angel who ends up in Purgatory with the mortal she was assigned to watch over. While working on getting her mortal out of Purgatory she discovers some disturbing news about her presence there." Things about this book you did not know , as told by the author D L Richardson : "This was ori

Science fiction predicts...

It started out as a discussion group on Amazon. "Who likes Apocalyptic fiction and why?" I asked this question and received so many great recommendations for books to read. Why did I ask this question in the first place? Because I'm writing two different sci-fi apocalyptic novels at the moment, and I really wanted to know that I had an audience. A writer's worst nightmare is to write a book that nobody wants to read. Yet, often its a case of nobody being able to find your book in the highway jam that is the internet. THE VIRTUAL WATER COOLER Everyone will tell you that word of mouth is still the best way to sell a book. The industry is clogged with books. Just like the highway, the jam is full of good cars and bad cars, and the online book industry is the same. Asking a question like "Who likes Apocalyptic fiction and why?" on an Amazon discussion group was the best way for me to get a list of books to purchase. This is the word of mouth that advertis